Deadpool

Wade Wilson, played by Ryan Reynolds, is a former special operative for the military. He now makes his living as mercenary, taking only jobs he likes. At his regular hangout, a bar where other mercs gather, he meets Vanessa, played by Morena Baccarin, a hooker with an appreciation for Wade’s sense of humor. They move in together and after a year or so, he proposes.
Then he discovers that he has terminal cancer. He gets an offer from a secretive organization to not only cure him but make him into a hyper-talented mutant superhero. Wanting a life with his fiancé, he accepts. What he doesn’t realize, however, is that the process of turning him into a superhero is injecting him with some chemicals and then torturing him until his new abilities manifest themselves. Those tortures leave him disfigured and he can’t bring himself to reunite with Vanessa. He makes himself a spandex suit and calls himself Deadpool.
This is a well-made film. The acting is fine. Ryan Reynolds is still in the better-looking than talented category but he is a decent comic actor who delivers his one-liners in good fashion. Morena Baccarin really stretches here from other roles I’ve seen her in, proving that she is a talented actress as well as one of the most beautiful women to ever grace the face of the planet.
The script by Rhett Reese and Paul Wernick is clever and well-written, jumping back and forth through time, breaking the fourth wall, dropping pop culture references, including to the X-men, which this is technically in the same universe as this and referring to the fact that this is a movie and is therefore not to be taken seriously. The direction is by Tim Miller and he gets good performances and keeps the pace lively. Technical elements are all top notch. Stunts, special effects and computer generated effects are as good as I’ve ever seen.
This is very much an R rated movie with raunchy humor and graphic violence. So it’s not for everyone. And I don’t think it’s for me.
I didn’t like the guy. I would tell you that his humor was reminiscent of my days in the frat house but I can’t because I never pledged a fraternity because I knew I’d run into guys like this. His chemistry with the girl was lost on me because it seemed to be solely based on dick jokes. It wasn’t quite as bad as The Green Hornet where by the end I had more sympathy for the bad guy, but Deadpool is really annoying.
And I realize that at best I’m not entering into the spirit of the thing and at worst I’m being a prude. The audience I saw it with applauded at the end of the film, so mine is a minority opinion. The only thing I can say is that I hope I’ve given you some idea of what the film is like and if you think you’d like it, go see it. I hope you enjoy it. Make sure you stay through the end credits. I also hope I never see so much as a frame of this ever again.
I didn’t like the guy.

1 Response to “Deadpool”


  1. 1 Mark Anderson February 14, 2016 at 9:05 pm

    “I didn’t like the guy. I would tell you that his humor was reminiscent of my days in the frat house but I can’t because I never pledged a fraternity because I knew I’d run into guys like this.”

    Damn, I wish I’d written that.


Leave a Reply

February 2016
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
29  

Blog Stats

  • 34,587 hits

